My love is like a red, red…

Passion flower

Robert Burns, regarded as Scotland’s national bard, wrote his poem likening his love (one of many, as Rabbie was something of a lover of the ladies) to a red, red rose. But in these modern days of technology, when we indulge in a bit of nostalgia by collecting memorabilia and junk from the past, and when we perhaps equate love with something different than what many might see as a hackneyed and mushy red rose, I wondered what other items our love might be compared with. So here goes.

Sweet Tallinn

My love is like a wonderful meal…especially something sweet and delicious.

Italian painting

My love is like a work of art…or perhaps a film star.

Red phone box

My love is like a telephone box. Really? Well, a number of years ago when many of these old boxes were sold off, thousands of people bought one, desperate to have one in house or garden. So obviously an item many people cherished.

Hot like chillies

My love is hot and fiery, like chillies.

Cock-a-doodle-doo

My love is…well, perhaps we’d better not go there!

Red sail on loch

My love is free as the breeze, enjoys new experiences, being blown here and there like the wind in a red sail.

Path markerMy love knows what she wants, but I’m worried it might be a leap in the dark, taking me into deep waters that I can’t get out of.

Ginger is the Scottish equivalent of redhead, and this lovely ginger specimen would have Well hello, big manthe hearts of numerous farmers around here beating faster.

Happy red bells

Love is like rhododendron flowers. In Victorian times, and till today, many plant hunters from Scotland went out into the world’s wilds to identify plant species and bring back seeds. Rhododendrons became enormously popular, the wild form now considered a pest to be eradicated from our countryside.

The great kiltSome people, men mainly, have a passion for dressing up and re-enacting historic battles — better than indulging in domestic battles, though. So their loves might well be seen as historic damsels in distress, or ladies whose hands they fight battles to win.

Basket hilt

Did your loved one fight for you?

Ready for a romantic drive

Old romantics might see this as the ideal conveyance for an afternoon picnic or a romantic evening drive. Providing the horses behaved, of course.

Yes I can can-can

Fishnet tights, and the cancan may be a turn-on for some, but few would deny that a few days in Paris for Valentine’s day or in the spring (or any time really) is a delight, the ideal place for a bit of romance.

Post box for red letters

Postie, postie please don’t tarry

Take this to the one I’ll marry

Pink wild rose

My love is like a red, red… Okay this rose isn’t red, more a deep pink. But, guess what folks? It’s the only red rose I have amongst thousands of photographs, and it’s one of a wild rose. But I rather think a wild rose would have appealed to Rabbie more than a cultivated one.

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Dorothy Bruce, Events of interest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My love is like a red, red…

  1. A very nice collection of photos Dorothy – cleverly and thoughtfully pulled together. It’s the most interesting Valentine’s Day post I’ve seen. Have a great day with your true love. ~James

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. Mama Cormier says:

    I love all the red in this post. My favourite colour.

  4. Mine, too, though rather than brights I think, for wearing, I’m now tending to go for slightly darker shades. But it’s difficult to imagine a world without the exuberance of reds.

  5. bebs1 says:

    What fun Dorothy, love it!

  6. bebs1 says:

    Dorothy, how about taking a break from red and this time I am inviting you to do the 5 Day B/W Challenge. All you have to do is post a b/w photo for 5 days and invite a person each day. I find it fun since I normally don’t do b/w. I hope you will agree. Thank you!

    • Thanks for thinking of me Bebs, however I’m really busy with work and deadlines at present – doing layouts for books required for not-too-far-off dates, and would find it difficult to get my mind dragged from one project to another. Certainly posting a photo for five days would pose problems as I become immersed in what I’m doing and before I know it the family are clamouring to be fed.

      So if you don’t mind I’ll sit this one out, but I do appreciate you asking. Hope someone else with a bit more time at present can take up the challenge. Cheers.

      • bebs1 says:

        No problem at all Dorothy. I do understand as sometimes I am a bit constrained too at times so am sure it is so much more for you. Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.