November 1st

img_1616

Here comes winter. The clock has changed and we’re in the count-down to Christmas, though many shops have been sneaking festive fare into their displays for the past month and more. But with Halloween over, and a free run until December 25th (though here in Scotland we have St Andrew’s day on November 30th, with Thanksgiving in the States) retailers will be ramming presents, food and what to wear for those wall-to-wall parties (what parties, we huddle by the fire here!) and that all-important big day.

November the first, and surprisingly it’s been another lovely day here.

img_1614

img_1615

Michaelmas daisies in a variety of colours add splashes of bright colour despite the late season.

img_1619

Golden Rod – a bit of a thug but welcome here for its hardiness and yellow that reminds of sunny summer days.

img_1622

These have flowered since the spring in a border by the roadside – a narrow country road which at harvest and some other times can seem like an urban motorway.

Mild for the time of year though colder today, and as frosts until now have been few and far between late-flowering plants are still blooming in our country garden with a backdrop of turning leaves on the beech hedge and a blaze of golden yellow on the beech tree at the foot of the garden.

img_1627

White heather for luck, and because it’s a Scottish garden, shows up well against the reddening berberis.

img_1628

The remains of two cornflowers poke out from the surrounding foliage.

img_1630

A gorgeous splash of colour from some late-flowering bulbs, though can’t remember their name.

Such a joy to see plants still in bloom as it lessens the dead period of winter ruled by bare branches, rotting leaves, and the skeletons of shrubs.

img_1631

I love this image with different coloured foliage against the whinstone wall.

img_1632

Purple flowered clematis still rambling through the beech hedge.

img_1635

A clump of Japanese anemones still flowering bravely, though sadly almost over.

But it isn’t just flowers providing colour. Plants with different shapes and colours of leaves add real interest at this time of year. It has taken us years to get many of them established, but now on the first day of November I can feel my spirits rise as I look out my kitchen window and enjoy the array of colours.

img_1637

The large beech tree at the foot of the garden.

img_1639

Another great autumn foliage contrast.

img_1641

Groundcover plants still providing colour and texture.

So I couldn’t stop myself marching outside with my camera to capture some of this late bounty. As well as being a pleasure to look at during dreary monochrome winter months, my photographs are reminders of shapes and colours, places, objects and quirks of light that I can draw on in my writing to add authenticity to the settings for my characters.

img_1642

img_1643

A lonely pansy adding a touch of purple in the corner of a flower bed.

img_1653

The children in the house next door have been celebrating Halloween.

Something noticed, captured in a photograph, the image inserted in words into a story for others to relive the experience. This year’s November the first will last into the future.

img_1656

The climbing rose by the door is still bravely blooming.

img_1658

I think this is a Nandinia. It grows in a large pot from a small cutting we took from a garden years ago.

img_1659

In the flower bed by the door a golden yew gives a sunny welcome to visitors, while at this time of year the berberis puts on a fiery show.

img_1651

Holly, associated with Christmas, but in our garden it’s at its best now. Long before Christmas it will be bare of berries, the birds having feasted themselves, though we’ll still be left with its glossy, rich green, spineless leaves

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Dorothy Bruce, The environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to November 1st

  1. Mama Cormier says:

    What wonderful colour from your garden and surrounding areas. The only colour left in my garden is from my dahlia plant at the back of the garden.

    • Yes, we’ve enjoyed late colour this year, though not for much longer. The past couple of nights have brought heavy frosts so I don’t expect flowers to last. Leaves are already gone from some of the trees indicating we’re definitely heading into winter. Brrrr!

  2. Roxie says:

    I so enjoyed strolling through your gorgeous garden! I played outside in mine yesterday, transferring blooms in hopes of delaying their showy colors, but I know they will disappear soon. Your yard looks like you spend hours caring for it, how you must love your view!

    • Thank you, Roxie, but I have to admit the garden is all my husband’s work with my input minimal. We stay in the countryside, so it’s very much a country garden. No manicured lawn or trimmed hedges, but instead tough grass that handles most of what’s thrown at it, hardy shrubs and trees, and plants that can survive hard frosts and bitter east winds. Over the years it has developed a character of its own, from agricultural field to the welcoming garden of a house that was once a small country church.

  3. Sheila says:

    Beautiful! Thank you for the garden stroll. I’ll have to look back at this in the middle of winter. I love the white silver leaves. Huddling by the fire sounds much better to me than going to parties, especially if it’s possible to look out and enjoy views like these.

    • I’m glad I took those photos when I did as we’ve had torrential rain today which has scoured leaves from trees and battered plants, leaving flowers a bedraggled mop of faded colour. And it’s much colder with a brisk wind. The season is changing fast.

  4. Aquileana says:

    Such beautiful and colorful flowers and plants… 😉

Leave a Reply

