Happy New Year

New Year bouquet

Happy New Year everyone and a big bouquet of thanks to everyone who has read my blog, with a special flower of appreciation to those who have commented. Hope 2016 brings you all what you wish for.

Keep blogging and I look forward to getting to know more of you.

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Events of interest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. sarah2163 says:

    Happy New year to you and Russell – hope 2016 is a positive and happy year for you and your family 🎉

  2. walter- says:

    Beautiful bouquet of flowers. I hope you have a happy and prosperous year 2016

    • Thank you, Walter. Same to you. I love these flowers. In southern Portugal and Madeira you see them everywhere. They don’t grow in Scotland, though, too cold for them.

  3. Pat Mosel says:

    Strelitzia is a flower I used to give my mother as a thank you – for anything. All the best for 2016.

    • I can never remember the proper name, Pat, and usually refer to them as Bird of Paradise flowers. They do look like birds with long beaks and tufted crests. I love the colours of them and whenever we come across them on holiday I want to photograph them. Glad they are appropriate as ‘thank you’ flowers. All the best to you for this new year.

  4. mybrightlife says:

    Strelitzias they are! One of our National Flowers. Love them and so do the birds! Happy New Year!

  5. Hope very late commenters still get a flower, Dorothy 😀

  6. carol1945 says:

    My neighbor had gorgeous birds of paradise blooming in her yard. (If you think about it, gardens are also a huge plus for the neighbors. In fact, I have heard it said that a person should consult the person who lives across the street before painting one’s house because they are the ones who have to live with it!!!) At any rate, my neighbor died, and the people who moved in did not care about gardening. So, now I look out the window at a wasteland, and the lovely birds have pretty much died.

  7. What a shame about the flowers – seeing them raises spirits. Know what you mean about your view. We look out mainly on fields and trees and in spring it’s wonderful to watch buds breaking and the views from our windows turning green again.

Leave a Reply

