Classy or what!

HG Wells Class coverSadly I didn’t win the H G Wells Short Story Competition for which my story Bowler and bunnet, felt and fascinator was shortlisted. But thrilled to have my story included in their anthology.

As I couldn’t attend the award ceremony I was asked to send a video of me reading the first page of my story. As my story mentions hats, I thought I should wear one for the reading. But as I very rarely wear a hat, this caused a slight problem. The brim of the only hat I possessed cast a shadow over my eyes causing fun and games with lighting. Anyway, here it is.

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Dorothy Bruce, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Classy or what!

  1. Chris says:

    Loved hearing you read. No monotone drone here! Congrats again on being shortlisted, even if you didn’t win the big prize. Lovely that your story (great opening!) will be in the anthology. Looks like the lighting worked out well; we can see your eyes despite the shadow cast by the hat’s brim. The hats you placed to the right are a nice detail. Well done! Hope to see more videos of you reading your work.

    • Thanks, Chris. It took an entire afternoon to video that two minute piece – one of the problems of filming inside in winter. We also had to deal with an echo because it was videoed in our hall with its high ceiling (we live in an old church). One of the problems of doing more is persuading husband and two sons who were involved with the technical side to go through the process again. But you never know.

  2. walter- says:

    Felicitaciones por tu trabajo. El vídeo de usted leyendo me gustó, además eligió bien la música. La idea de llevar sombrero estuvo muy bien.
    Congratulations on your work. The video of you reading I liked, also well chosen music. The idea of hat was very good.

  3. carol1945 says:

    After corresponding with you via WordPress, I was thrilled to see and hear you reading your story!!! Can you tell me what is a “fascinator”? Also “bunnet”???

  4. Hi Carol, a fascinator is one of those frothy, mainly net hats, sometimes with an added ribbon flower or bow, that people often wear here to weddings. They perch on your hair without destroying the new hairstyle you just paid a small fortune for. A bunnet is what we call a flat cap. All workers used to wear them which is rather funny as now they are mostly worn by the ‘country set’ for their hunting, shooting and fishing. The theme for the story competition was class, and I decided hats were a good aspect of class when you think of the top hats and bowlers worn by some sections of society and the caps and plan felt hats that used to be worn by others. Glad you liked my reading.

    • carol1945 says:

      Thanks for the explanation. Hats are a great topic. Where I live, I rarely see anyone wearing hats, except baseball caps. However, I took a photo of a hat recently, and I will post it on WordPress.

Leave a Reply

