Hobnobbing

Books and sun

The joy of relaxing in the sun at the Festival.

August is festival month in Edinburgh. Music, art, drama, literature, film, comedy — the list covered seems endless. As well as the official festival, over the years a large, sprawling fringe festival has grown around it. Its performances can be serious or zany, thought-provoking or madcap, taking place in streets or one of the many venues pressed into service around the city centre and beyond.

This year my husband and I have been so busy —self-publishing is all-consuming of time and energy — that we haven’t managed to attend a performance as yet, not even a talk at the book festival which is one of our favourites. Each August the central gardens in one of Edinburgh’s sedate New Town Squares, is taken over by a tented village of venues — three event tents of varying sizes, book-signing areas, a bookshop, tent for children’s events, hospitality space, bar and performance area and admin.

Moulin Rouge in Edinburgh

The Moulin Rouge at the Edinburgh International Book Festival – everything but the can-can

In the central grassy area visitors lounge or mill around. If the weather is good they loll on the grass and sunbathe or read, drink coffee or enjoy ice cream.

Chair or face?

Face chair – the other side of this was actually a seat. Would have loved one of these for my garden!

Two or three years ago we were fortunate to secure tickets for the Iain Banks event. Iain, who sadly died recently, was one of our most highly regarded writers. His events were always filled with flights of his legendary imagination, serious discussion and riotous humour. That year the person who was to introduce him and ask him questions on his writing was Alex Salmond, the First Minister of our devolved Scottish Parliament.

The Alex and Iain double act at the Edinburgh Festival

Scotland’s First Minister with author Iain Banks at a festival several years ago.

The session was highly enjoyable with the two hitting it off to provide moments of great hilarity that, at times, had the audience almost rolling in the aisles. As we left we took our time sauntering along the covered boardwalk, recalling our highlights. A heavy shower had rain bouncing off tent roofs and puddling the trampled grass. As our car was parked some distance away we hoped the rain would ease before we made our dash for it.

Our event had been one of the last of the evening, so the place was emptying, leaving it strangely eerie and ghostly, a lit stage with no performers or audience. As we loitered near the exit, Nick Barley, Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival, walked towards the exit with the First Minister who thanked him for his time, said he was sure he still had things to attend to. As Nick Barley turned to leave, the First Minister sauntered across to us and started to chat.

Books, tents and sun.

The bookshop at the Festival.

On the drive home in the car, and for days after, I thought of all the issues, clever ideas, intelligent thoughts, sensible phrases I should have raised, expressed, even blurted out. But for the life of me I couldn’t remember what I had talked about. Whatever we said must have been of some interest as he stayed chatting to us for ten or fifteen minutes, perfectly relaxed, very gracious, friendly even, saying little but responding positively to what we said.

After the talking people go home to read books.

When the crowds have gone home – the place looks colourful but slightly eerie.

We look forward to our visits to the book festival as there is always a frisson of excitement about what literary celebrities might be seen dashing between tents, or ensconced at a table with piles of their latest book. We rarely expect any of them to chat to us beyond answering a question one of us might ask at their session, or querying what name should be scribbled on the book just bought. But never had we anticipated we might find ourselves hobnobbing with our First Minister.

Just shows what exciting places book festivals can be.

Book festival goes green.

A colourful end to a colourful evening.

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in People of interest, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hobnobbing

  1. mybrightlife says:

    I love, love, love a festival and the Edinburgh Festival is legendary. I hope to get there one day. Enjoy every minute – when/if you get a chance this year!

  2. carolee1945 says:

    Oh, your writing and your photos make me feel like I am right there with you at the festival. I love books, and I sure wish I could have been there. Your description of your “celebrity experience” was delightful. Thanks for posting this.

  3. carolee1945 says:

    A wordpress weirdness to report!!! Your post came through with all the photos on my ipad. I went to my imac so I could see the wonderful photography enlarged, and your photos just had these little blue boxes with a question mark. When I clicked on the question mark, then all the photos appeared, one by one. This has never happened before. It could be my computer.

  4. Rita Kay says:

    What a great festival, I wish I could have been there!!

Leave a Reply

