Steaming on

It sat in a reduced section in the supermarket amongst unsold Valentine tat, unwanted toys and tools. Not exactly expensive to begin with, the cost had been reduced by over a third, and for something I fancied trying £11 was not much to pay. Into the trolley it went and yesterday evening I used my new steamer to cook vegetables to accompany our chicken dinner.

I cut carrots in thick diagonal slices and put these in the bottom basket and set it to steam. Then I cut sticks of celery into two inch pieces, and placed broccoli florets in beside these with a scattering of thinly sliced red pepper to add colour. That went into the second basket which was placed onto the one already cooking.

The basic booklet with the steamer said not to season until cooked when I added a grinder twist of salt to both and black pepper and a knob of butter to the carrots.

The veg was excellent with an unbelievably rich flavour, and the cooking juices which had gathered in the drip tray I added to give additional oomph to the chicken gravy.

Vegetables in a steamer

The way you can mix veg is very satisfying. It looks good from the time you put it in the steamer.

I have a marrow for this evening. Can’t wait to taste the result. Think I’m hooked.

Does anyone have any great steaming recipes they’d like to share?

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Cooking and cook books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steaming on

  1. Sheila says:

    Yum! I’ve only steamed one vegetable at a time in a pan but this sounds wonderful to mix them all up and steam them. I might have to go looking for one of these.

    • With three baskets you separate them into baskets according to cooking time. But I feel compelled to make the veg in the baskets look attractive to eat so add extra bits and pieces. Seems to work. Now looking for more adventurous recipes.

  2. Carol Breslin says:

    What a coincidence. I was thinking of buying a steamer such as the one you pictured here. Right now I just use a colander over a pot of water, but I think maybe an actual steamer would be better.

Leave a Reply

