Valentine Red

Petals and moss

Azalea bells lying on a carpet of moss – Benmore Botanic Garden, Argyll

Red. Bright, bold, brazen, beguiling red. Smouldering red. Valentine red.

No photos of hearts or flowers. Just places where something romantic, passionate even, might happen or have happened beside something red.

Edinburgh International Book Festival

Enjoying the sun and atmosphere of the Edinburgh International Book Festival

Cottages by Loch Fyne

Cottages at Newton, Loch Fyne, Argyll – a wonderful place for a romantic break

Moulin Rouge, Paris

The Moulin Rouge, Montmartre, Paris – lots of red and romance associated with this.

Enduring red. Enduring love. Robert Burns till a’ the seas gang dry an’ the rocks melt wi’ the sun love.

Lifeboat access only

Couldn’t resist this sign at St Abbs in Berwickshire. Stop signs appear everywhere…even in romance.

Red sail

Fancy a romantic sail on St Mary’s Loch in the Scottish Borders?

Eyemouth Harbour

Lots of bustle, boats and seals to watch on a trip to Eyemouth Harbour, Berwickshire.

Red house

No shrinking violet of a property in Ireland

Cafe in Tallinn, Estonia

A wonderfully quirky courtyard cafe in Tallinn, Estonia

Japanese Garden, Lauriston Castle, Edinburgh

Soothing tranquility for that special meeting in the Japanese Garden, Lauriston Castle, Edinburgh

The celebratory champers isn’t red, but a little contrast is always welcome, especially when adorned with silver and gold.

Champagne on ice

The Champagne’s on ice, ready for that special dinner, that unforgettable evening in Tallinn, Estonia.

Wherever you are, I hope your Valentine’s day glows.

About jingsandthings

I am me. What do I like? Colour Shapes Textures Paintings, photographs, sculptures, woven tapestries, wonderful materials. The love of materials probably comes from my father who was a textile buyer, and I grew up hearing the names of mills and manufacturers which sounded magical and enticing. Glass in all its soft and vibrant colours and flowing shapes, even sixties glass which makes its own proud statement. A book I can immerse myself in. Meals with family or friends with lots of chat and laughter (and probably a bottle or two of wine). The occasional trip abroad to experience the sights, sounds, food, conversation, quality of light and warmth of other countries. To revel in differences and be amazed by similarities. I like to create and to experience, to try and to achieve. And then there are words – read, heard, written at my keyboard, or scrawled on sticky notes, or along the edges of dog-eared supermarket receipts excavated from the unexplored nooks of my handbag. What do I dislike? Cold Snow Bad design Fast food Condescension
This entry was posted in Places of interest. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Valentine Red

  1. d1nx says:

    You obviously enjoy Valentine’s day – so hope you have a glowing one.
    (I don’t buy into it.. I’m going to stand up with One Billion Rising instead – V day is tomorrow – and protest against Violence, Abuse and Rape of Women – especially here in South Africa.)

    • Valentines day provided an opportunity for me to post on my blog photographs of a few of the places my husband of many years and I have enjoyed together. Perhaps more days dedicated to acknowledging the things that bind us together as humans might be a beneficial reminder. One Billion Rising has only recently had brief coverage in the media here and I don’t know enough about it to comment. But I have raised violence against women in my writing and in a play I wrote, so it is an issue I am well aware of.

  2. Beautiful pictures! Love the red house with blue door.

  3. carolee1945 says:

    I really like your choosing red for a theme. I would not have thought of that!!! And all your photos are wonderful, bringing back memories of a glorious trip to Scotland about 20 years ago. I saw in the newspaper here in San Francisco that Scotland may separate from England. Wow!!!

    • Glad you like my red memories. Scotland and England joined together to become Great Britain in 1707, not a popular move in Scotland where there were riots at the decision. We retained our own church, system of law and education and when in 1999 a devolved parliament was set up in Edinburgh it took control of these and a number of other areas of Scottish life. The Scottish parliament is popular and there is widespread desire for it to have more powers. A referendum is scheduled for the autumn of 2014, though as the Westminster parliament determined it should be a straight yes or no on the question of independence rather than include a further option of a federalist system, we are now in the midst of a battle of the ayes and nays. Makes for an interesting life.

  4. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

